Eight Invocations World premiere and concert series

Eight Invocations to the Lunar Phases, a cycle for viola and piano by László Tihanyi published in 2011 will be premiered by Kim Kashkashian és Péter Nagy in Florence’s Teatro della Pergola on 15th November, preceding the Hungarian premier by nine days. During the spring of 2015 the piece will be performed repeatedly in the United States, e. g. at such distinguished venues as the Morgan Library in New York or the Library of Congress in Washington DC where Béla Bartók and József Szigeti gave a recital in 1940.

Read More

Balazs Horvath Laszlo Tihanyi performed in Vienna and Poznan

Ensemble arTrium (Steffi Mölle – flute, Odile Skarnes – viola, Zsuzsanna Aba-Nagy – harp) gives the Austrian premiere of Symmetry-Asymmetry by Balázs Horváth at the Alte Schmiede in Vienna on March 19.

More about the concert.

THReNSeMBle also performes pieces by Marcell Dargay, Péter Tornyai, Rafal Zapala and Pierre Boulez. Waiting for... by balázs Horváth and Summer Music by László Tihanyi will be premiered in Poland by THReNSeMBle and Balázs Horváth at the 43. Poznańska wiosna muzyczna, Poznań Festival on 22 March.

More about the concert and the festival.

Read More

Hungarian chamber music at Kempten in Germany

This autumn László Tihanyi is the composer in residence at the 7. Kempten Internationales Festival der Kammermusik. In the framework of the week-long series of concerts four of his works will be performed, including the première of Rundherum, for piano and string quartet, commissioned by the festival. The title refers to the arrangement on the platform of the instruments and music stands, and to the movement of the players.

Read More

Two Imaginary Dialogues - World premiere for László Tihanyi in Moscow

The ninth and last concert of the project "Europe through the eyes of Russians. Russia through the eyes of Europeans" (organized by the Centre of Contemporary Music, Moscow Conservatory) is dedicated to the musical connections of Russia and Hungary. Along with earlier solo and chamber works by Denisov, Ustvolskaya, Bartók, Ligeti and Kurtág, new commissioned compositions by Nikolay Khrust and by László Tihanyi are to be premiered at Rachmaninov Hall on February 9.

Read More